Archives for December 2013

Huge Turnout for Lee for Senate Kickoff

Senator Brian Frosh and former Delegates Marilyn Goldwater and Bill Bronrott strongly endorse Susan Lee for State Senate

Over 100 supporters braved the ice and snow to attend the Susan Lee for Senate Kickoff on December 8, 2013. Maryland Comptroller Peter Franchot, Senator Jamie Raskin representing himself and Senator Brian Frosh, Mayor Jeffrey Slavin, Councilmembers Valerie Ervin and George Leventhal, and Delegate Ariana Kelly provided remarks highlighting her legislative accomplishments that have benefitted the citizens of District 16, Montgomery County, and Maryland. They highlighted some of the landmark legislation she authored and passed to fight domestic violence and human trafficking, cyber attacks, identity theft and crimes against seniors, advancing Telemedicine, nanobiotechnology, and cyber security innovation and jobs.

Susan Lee currently serves as a District 16 Delegate in the Maryland House of Delegates, Deputy Majority Whip, President Emeritus of the Women’s Legislative Caucus, Chair of the Judiciary Committee Family Law Subcommittee, and Co-Chair of the Commission on Cyber Security Innovation and Excellence. Susan Lee has been a champion of education, clean environment, accessible quality health care, public safety, bioscience and technology, transportation that have made Maryland the best place to live, work and educate our children.

The Chairman of the Kickoff Committee was the Honorable Mayor Jeffrey Slavin. Honorary Co-Chairs for the event included State Treasurer Nancy Kopp, Comptroller Peter Franchot, Attorney General Doug Gansler, Senator Jamie Raskin, Senator Roger Manno, Senator Jennie Forehand, Senator Nancy King, Senator Richard Madaleno, Senator Karen Montgomery, Senator Brian Feldman, Delegate Ariana Kelly, County Executive Ike Leggett, State’s Attorney John McCarthy, Sheriff Darren Popkin, Register of Wills Joseph Griffin, Clerk of the Circuit Court Loretta Knight, Barbara Meiklejohn, Council President Nancy Navarro, Councilmember Phil Andrews, Councilmember Valerie Ervin, Councilmember Nancy Floreen, Councilmember George Leventhal, Councilmember Craig Rice, the Honorable Christopher Barclay, the Honorable Judith Docca, Stephen Greenfield, and Joseph Gebhardt.

Paid for and authorized by Friends of Susan C. Lee, P.O. Box 34283, Bethesda, MD 20827. Joseph D. Gebhardt, Treasurer  |  Contact the campaign